In 1922, Mažeikiai became the administrative center of the region, “after the Big War, after parceling the national Manor by approximately 240 ha and joining it to the city, it started to grow rapidly” and in 1932 had “approximately 350 ha of land and 6000 citizens”. City type-of buildings were also built: in 1928, “a rather beautiful and spacious slaughterhouse was opened”, in 1930 – public hospital, 1934 – “with assistance from the government and the Region, a huge modern palace was built for the primary school”, 1936, by the plan of an architect V. Landsbergis-Žemkalnis, a stone Catholic church with rather modern exterior forms was built and in the very end of the Independence period, in 1940, the City hall was built. One of the last units of the Bank of Lithuania built in a calm province city (the last was built in 1939 in Kretinga) became one of the most important architecture landmarks.
Project signed by architect Mykolas Songaila is dated at June 23, 1937, however the construction works were completed with a delay, at the end of 1938, as construction material was late to be imported from foreign countries and the municipality had to postpone its canalization works, thus it was impossible to connect the house to central city’s networks”. When evaluating building’s architecture it is worth to notice its planned structure, which “reminds of a blossoming blossom of a tulip”. Due to a symmetric planning, simplified elements of orderly system, the Bank building can be described as a typical modernized example of Historicism, however flexible lines of planned structure, interesting decoration of sharp geometric ornaments on the main door, staircase handrails and some other interior fragments can be related with the art deco stylistics.